Thunder

In a brief moment of clarity I wondered if I seemed like a crazy person swatting invisible gnats in the air. The thunder of my next contraction drove that and every other thought out of my head. Nothing outside my body had changed, but time stopped and space diminished as my son and I worked out the details of his pending arrival.

This week’s prompt is thun·der noun \ˈthən-dər\
3: bang, rumble <the thunder of big guns>

My take on the prompt is totally autobiographical this week. I guess birth is on my mind since my son will be a year old in a couple months. Time flies. And both of my labors are among my most cherished memories and favorite experiences of my life.

13 thoughts on “Thunder

  1. great ending to a beautiful beginning. I cherish the arrivals of both of my girls – and each of their children. Life is a beautiful thing. 🙂

  2. I loved every word of this. You’re totally making me nostalgic; my boy is just over 3. 🙂 The phrase that resonated with me most strongly was “time stopped and space diminished.” I can’t think of a better way to put it.

Leave a Reply

