Scandal

This week’s Trifecta challenge word is scandal.

3   a: a circumstance or action that offends propriety or established moral conceptions or disgraces those associated with it
     b : a person whose conduct offends propriety or morality <a scandal to the profession>

Scandal:

I met my boyfriend’s wife today. She doesn’t know about us, but she knows. She came into my shop today, desperate to make eye contact, and she kept pressing her lips together like her lipstick was going somewhere if she didn’t hold on to it. She seemed really sweet though, and I don’t know why, but I kind of hope she liked me too.

******************************************************************

I met my husband’s girlfriend today. I didn’t know for sure until I saw her, but I do now.

Hours later, I was still trying to process the fact of this other woman over the roar of my toddler crying angrily for another popcicle and my infant expressing himself with a spatula and muffin tin. I wandered through the house picking up scattered toys and laundry, determined the house would look nice when I confronted my husband. As I passed through the dining room I caught sight of myself in the China cabinet’s mirrored back panel: ratty gray shorts, once-white tank top, lopsided ponytail, mascara under my eyes, something orange-brown crusted on my shoulder. What was that? Sweet potatoes? Vomit? No wonder. And then I realized something – underneath all that, the girlfriend looked a little like me. Cleaner and more confident though. Me five years ago.

Minutes before my husband was due home, I decided to check his email. It was something I had told myself I’d never do, but there it was. The very first message, and it had already been marked as read:

Hey Babe! I met your wife today, and she is delightful! Lunch tomorrow? xoxo

I pointed to the monitor when he walked in, not sure what I would say. He leaned over my shoulder, squinting at the screen, then stood up, chuckled, and said, “There’s no scandal here. I’m just having my cake and eating it too.” He winked and gave me a playful pat as he breezed out of the room.

12 thoughts on “Scandal

  1. Ah, what a jerk!
    I love/hate how completely unrepentant the ‘other woman’ is, too. I know it takes two to tango, but the Jerk clearly has no conscience. And she doesn’t either – not a shred of guilt for destroying a family.

  2. So which is better? Blogspot or WP? I love this story. But what a despicable man! Hope you can join us for the weekend prompt which is already up on the site. It’s community judging this weekend, so get your entry in and get voting!

  3. Pingback: A Scandalous Apology | i write

Leave a Reply

