Trifextra: Week Eleven


Trifecta says: For this week’s Trifextra, we’re switching things up a little bit. The 33-word stories are fun to read, but we wanted to give you a bit more leeway this weekend. The challenge is to write a response that is between 33 and 333 words long and uses the words listed below. Use the words however you wish, but make sure that all three appear in your response. Oh, and they must appear in order.

cacophony
soap
insects

I am numb to the outside world; and beyond not feeling it, I hardly hear it and I only see a blur. It’s this damn cacophony in my head. I occasionally hear people laugh about having OCD when their little quirks shine through. “I just have to have the lettuce between the pickle and tomato on my hamburger – if the pickle and tomato are even touching I won’t eat it! I must have OCD!” they laugh gleefully. I’d like to wash their mouths out with soap. It’s not the compulsions that make Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder such a pain in the ass; it’s the never-ending nightmare of obsessive thoughts, layering themselves over and over each other in my brain until I think I’ll just start screaming and never stop – like one of those lunatics you see in the old movies, chained to a bed and wild-eyed. If you could see in my head on the worst days I think it would look like one of those “live bait” bins at a country gas station: insects piled thick and deep, writhing against each other, not sure whether to fight the container or each other. And that’s me: the container. So go ahead and have your hamburger that special way that makes you oh-so-unique among your friends, entertain your little pet eccentricities, just keep it away from me. I’d hate to see what happens if your face becomes my new obsession.

15 thoughts on “Trifextra: Week Eleven

  1. Wow is the only word for this. Your words flow so effortlessly and you used the 3 required words so smoothly. Excellent imagery. This challenge was waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

