My daughter, my heart

Trifecta says: Check out the third definition of trail (below), and respond, using the word exactly as it appears, in no less than 33 and no more than 333 words.

3:     to move, flow, or extend slowly in thin streams <smoke trailing from chimneys>

My daughter, my heart:

I watch my daughter play alone in the yard. She is strong and independent. She discovers the world in solitude.

I watch my daughter play alone, working out the ways of the world, and I want to join her. I love her, and she may not know it. I love her, and she may not care.

I leap at her joyful play and twist at the sight of her friendless.

Little wisps of fear and love trail from my heart as I go out to meet her.

17 thoughts on “My daughter, my heart

  1. How very opposite my story today.

    Beautiful representation of the wonder of our children, for sure. I love the warmth.

Leave a Reply

